Permanent Residence

Austrailia PR Visa

Skilled Migration Criteria

It is also called General Skilled Migration (GSM) program. It is for people who want to settle permanently in Australia and have skills in particular occupations required in Australian labour market.

1. Skilled -Sponsored (Migrant) Visa (Subclass-189): Occupation list under this visa

As the name suggests, you must be either sponsored by an eligible relative living in Australia or nominated by the participating State or Territory govt.

2. Skilled – Independent (Migrant) Visa (Subclass 190) : Occupation list under this visa

If you do not have a blood relative in Australia, this would be the most suitable category for you. You need to score a minimum of 60 points in the points test to be eligible to apply. Points are given for age, occupation, English language ability, work experience, spouse skills, Australian educational qualification and occupation in demand. You may also be eligible for bonus points if you have Australian work experience, knowledge in a community language of Australia or if you are prepared to invest in Australia.

To be eligible for this visa, the applicants must be over 18 and under 45 years of age, with good English language ability, and recent skilled work experience (approx 3-4 years)or a recently completed eligible Australian qualification.

3. Skilled -Sponsored (Migrant) Visa (Subclass-491) : Occupation list under this visa

If you miss the 65 pass mark of the Skilled – Independent by just 15 points, Don’t worry! you still have an option to migrate to Australia. Participating State or Territory government.

1. South Australia
2. Tasmania
3. Victoria
4. Western Australia
5. New South Wales
6. Queensland
7. Northern Territory
8. Australian Capital Territory

The above mentioned State and Territory governments may nominate you only if your occupation is in shortage in their particular State or Territory. Nomination from a State or Territory government does not automatically result in the grant of a visa. Your application must also be assessed by the Department of Immigration and Citizenship against a number of visa-specific requirements. You will only be granted a visa if all requirements are met.

To find out if you meet the basic requirements of this visa